Connected?

Ruminations of my life as a teacher

Find 5 Friday #1

  1. Katie Salen is with Connected Learning Research Center videos, DePaul University, and Institute of Play.  She discusses connecting kids to things they’re interested in.  Connect them to other people in their school and they begin to see themselves as mentors and experts for their peers.  Since I believe nothing is more important than engagement in education, I found her comments about kids following their interests refreshing and very anti-common core!  But in a way…pro common core.  If our goal is to promote reading, writing, communication, research skills, etc., why do we fall to consider the interests of students when creating curriculum?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AnHnDeq0BYA&index=2&list=PL0ELr5eRiluzx5DlCveU_ieL0y6x3rfRN

  1. This is part of a blog for teachers based in Canada. I like the author’s simple, yet practical approach to keeping math real.  I like that he states that his students often see math as abstract, when it really is anything but.  We/I often teach it as though there is no practical use, when nothing could be further from the truth!

http://learnteachlead.ca/real-world-math-the-garden-stone-problem/

 

  1. I’m going to try to make at least one of my connections each week something to do with educational policy. Something teachers have little time for is staying connected to policy, policy decisions, and those making the decisions (often people with little to no educational training or experience!).  Diane Ravitch is a historian of education and a policy analyst.  She has written several books on educational policy.  I follow her on Twitter and try to “visit” her several times throughout the years.  I am often shocked and dismayed at the information she collects and presents.  It is stunning how little the public knows about the field of education.  I believe teachers need to find some time to stay updated on what’s happening.  I will be the first to admit, I am not connected enough in this regard.

http://dianeravitch.net/2016/01/24/michigan-the-pathetic-failure-of-the-education-achievement-authority/

  1. Adam Grant is an organizational psychologist and Wharton professor. He wrote a book called Give and Take: A Revolutionary Approach to Success.  You can find him speaking on Youtube and other venues.  This is a particularly interesting and well-done interview by Krista Tippett on the NPR show On Being.  What I like best about Adam Grant are his views on the importance of how we interact with other professionals in our work place.  The model of “give and take” is important to remember when considering the gifts we have a responsibility to share with our colleagues.  I have learned so much from other teachers, some with little experience and some with a lot of experience.  This is an outstanding interview.

http://www.onbeing.org/program/adam-grant-successful-givers-toxic-takers-and-the-life-we-spend-at-work/8058

  1. This is a thought provoking blog post with some attached research on the subject of homework. Like the author, I’ve gone through an evolution on my thinking.  As an elementary school teacher, I ask my students to work very hard during the day, trying my best to have them take advantage of every minute of every day.  My students get home between 4:10 and 4:30 in the afternoon.  At this time, most kids need a break or have other activities planned.  I’m not sure 10 more math problems is the best use of their time.  I do think reading is important, but beyond that, I’m not a fan of a lot of homework.  I do assign it because my district requires this, but I have backed off what expect kids to do once they leave the classroom at the end of the day.

http://leadingmotivatedlearners.blogspot.com/2016/01/what-can-i-say.html

3 Comments

  1. I especially enjoyed reading your #F5F post about homework. I have gone back and forth about homework every single year. The research of Alfie Kohn’s work reminded me that there really ISN’T a direct correlation between homework and academic success. I assign homework, and I see benefits of it- however, the benefit is mainly to teach responsibility, accountability, and organization. In my eyes, homework isn’t going to show me complete understanding. Some of my “smartest” students hand in lousy homework. It doesn’t mean they don’t get the concept, but rather that they probably just rushed! Likewise, my learning support students usually hand in accurate work because their parents sit with them and help. Although I am not a parent, my view of homework changed mainly when I was nannying for a family. It all clicked when I was both the teacher in the daytime and the pseudo parent in the evening. I would get so frustrated that the girls took forever to write a sentence for their spelling words. I would end up sitting next to them telling them what to write. We had to get their homework done so we could get to soccer, and then make dinner, and then take baths and get to bed to do it all over again the next day. The stress and frustration it caused ME was enough to stress the kids out. In this case, homework was causing more harm than good.

    This post was a gentle reminder that, as educators, it’s important that we take a step back and ask ourselves if what we are assigning is “busy work” or is of value. Thanks for the reminder!

    • sharbotini

      January 31, 2016 at 10:42 am

      Your anecdotes and insights are “spot-on” in my opinion!

    • Incredibly well written description of my thinking. It’s often more of a habit or formality, rather than to intentionally reinforce learning. And don’t even get me started on Study Island assignments, from a parent’s point if view.
      :Sigh:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

© 2024 Connected?

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑

Skip to toolbar