Connected teachers and learners search for any and all means of facilitating learning.  Though I’ve had a smart phone for several years, my app use has centered on global positioning and little else.  Until recently, I never played a game on my phone.  My personal prejudice against apps put them in the category of “time wasting.”  As you might imagine, this is not the first time my ignorance caused a misunderstanding!  A few entries ago, I described my change of attitude toward Twitter and its usefulness in connecting to others for all sorts of things, though I mostly stick to connecting to educational professionals.  I’m now beginning a journey that’s making me realize the utility of the app store!

As many, or all of you, may already know, there are oodles of education related app activities, from learning a new language to math and science games to “brain development” to history, music, and geography.  It really is an enticing array of content related to education.  For older students, I found apps on politics, including the 2016 election, chemistry, biology, geometry, calculus and MUCH, MUCH MORE!  Regarding equity, all of the apps I’ve mentioned are free!

As more educators see the educational benefits of utilizing mobile devices with connectivity, the question is, are we taking full advantage of the availability and the high interest of students in using these resources to improve learning?  One issue in school is sometimes the lack of time to practice the basics and, at a minimum, apps can help with that, especially considering their ease of use for students of all ages.

Similar to Lacey, I set my fourth graders off on the task of inventing a school related app.  @Seecantrill posed some questions regarding student interest this week, and it was…well, interesting how my students incorporated their personal interests into their app ideas.  About 45% of the students created school help or subject specific apps, often incorporating their enjoyment of a sport, such as “Soccer Fun,” which was actually a math practice app.  About 20% incorporated an interest is something specific, beyond a school subject.  For example, two people created apps that allowed them to follow their love of minerals, “Crystal Heaven” and “Mining Minerals.”  Another created a wordy app called, “Get Better at Baseball, NOW!” which combined the coaching of baseball fundamentals and the promotion of learning about the history of baseball.  Another, from a student who enjoys travel with his family, was called “Globe It!!!” and facilitated learning about “anyware in the world and write an awesome story about (fiction or nonfiction) and take a picture from where you are.”  Two other apps helped users learn to play the recorder, a connection to what they are actually doing this year at my school through the music program.  Finally, two more apps turned my inquiry project game, “3-2-1, 1-2-3” into an app.  My ego took this as a great complement!  The apps were called, “3-2-1, FUN!” and 3-2-1, Let’s Have Fun!”

The enthusiasm of the students for their app creation task reminded me, once again, that when they see learning as following their interests or play, students become invested at an incredibly high level.  Combine this with novelty and the energy in the room skyrockets, off-task behavior disappears, and engagement is achieved.

During this political season, and considering voter apathy among young adults, I’ve been thinking of apps that would somehow connect teenagers to local political issues and local politicians at the township and borough levels.  Kids often get passionate about local issues they judge as unfair or ones that will improve their lives.  What if teachers had an easy way to make kids aware of local issues and connected them to local politicians and bureaucrats?  Would this increase young people’s feeling of connectedness?  Would it allow them to access the democratic process in a meaningful way at a young age?  Would this create a situation that resulted in higher voter turnout among the younger demographic?  It’s clear that a high number of young adults, and an alarming number of older adults, don’t participate fully in the democratic process, especially when there is no presidential election.

My personal preference for an app?  The one that will tell me every scheduled live musical performance within 30 miles of Center City Philadelphia.  I always seem to find out about concerts after they’re sold out!

My other idea is an app that creates a cheesesteak out of thin air…